Per FIDE rules, I must not write down moves "in advance". Does this mean: in advance of making, or in advance of completing?
Today I have seen a strange ruling as a spectator. A young player made a move, wrote it down and pressed the clock. The other player called an arbiter and objected to the order of actions. The arbiter seemed to be agreeing with the complaint, stating that the mandatory order is making the move, pressing the clock, and only then writing it down. (It wasn't obvious whether this was meant as advisory or warning.) This was in Europe.
I prefer answers based on non-US experience if available, because the USCF used to be more lenient toward writing down 1 move even immediately before making it, and that is hopefully irrelevant to my question.